Aug. 20, 2012 (Mtg. 1)

Former-LEE Board Meeting Minutes
8-20-12, No. 1

The Meeting was called to order by Vice-President Randy Casey at 11:45 a.m. Board members present: Tracy Anderson, Randy Casey, David Kadjar, Pat Mann, Mike Nebgen, Renee Rhodes, and Kimberlee Whittington. Frank McCloskey, 2012-2013 board member was also in attendance.

Also present from the Lee College staff was Ginni Whitten.

Minutes of the June 18, 2012, Board Meeting were read and approved on a motion by Renee Rhodes, seconded by Kimberlee Whittington.

The Agenda indicated that we have 137 members, including 52 Lifetime.

Kimberlee Whittington took the floor to explain the need for scholarships in the Continuing Education Department, which this group had supported in the 2010-2011 academic year. The CE department covers many non-academic programs that lead to a required industry-recognized credential. Many of these workforce certificates are offered in the medical area, including phlebotomy, dental assistants, EKG technicians, and more. Scholarships in the amount of $250 each were awarded previously to six students in the medical area. The board members believed that more could be reached. On a motion by Pat Mann, seconded by David Kadjar, it was agreed that a sum of $2,000 be made available for the upcoming year from the “Other Revenue” fund.

The Board has previously agreed to distribute cold water and maps to students on the first day of class, Aug. 27. Based on input, a training session for volunteers will be held to facilitate answering student questions; two posts should be manned as was done last year: at the Student Center and at Molar Hall. Ms. Whitten will meet with volunteers at 8:45am on Monday, at the Administration Building, to give a quick guided tour of the campus. The members who volunteered to participate are: Mike Nebgen, Frank McCloskey, Rene Rhodes, and Randy Casey.

Ms. Whitten reported on the funds available to the Board, from both Dues and Other revenue sources.

On motion by Renee Rhodes, seconded by David Kadjar, the meeting adjourned at 12:20 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,
Pat Mann, Secretary