April 29, 2013

President Randy Casey called the meeting to order at 6 pm in the private meeting room of the Spring Hill Suites.

President Casey recognized the Lee College Regents in attendance: Keith Coburn, Don Coffey, Susan Moore-Fontenot, Mark Himsel, and Ron Haddox well as the College President, Dr. Dennis Brown. Mary Ann Amelang, Pam Warford, Ginni Whitten, Windi O’Shields, Kerri Hurlbut, Steve Lestarjette, and Chris Coats from the Lee College staff were present. He also recognized two GCCISD Trustees, Jenice Coffey, and Agustin Loredo III, as well as the City Councilman Scott Sheley, who were present.

President Casey called on Ginni Whitten, Lee’s Alumni Director, to report on the year’s activities of Former-LEE. Since 2010, Former-LEE’s overall membership has doubled, with almost 180 members; Lifetime memberships have  doubled as well, with 79 members. Activities included providing cold bottled water and campus maps for new students on the first day of classes; providing refreshments throughout each semester for  the Veterans’ Center; hosted a VIP tailgate pizza party prior to a Lady Rebels volleyball game and a Mexican dinner prior to a Lee Rebel basketball game; hosted a dinner with President Brown at the Red Fox for Lifetime members; sponsored a speed networking event associated with the Annual Lee College Job Fair; distributed alumni gifts at the nurse pinning and graduation ceremonies. President Casey also recognized members of the Board of Former-LEE: David Kadjar, Joan Linares, Pat Mann, Frank McCloskey, Dr. Tim Planty, Renee Rhodes, and Kimberlee Whittington.

President Casey introduced the Chairman of the Nominating Committee, Joan Linares. Joan provided a slate of nominees from the Nominating Committee. Joan introduced each nominee separately and shared a brief biography of the following people: incumbents David Kadjar, Renee Rhodes, and Kimberlee Whittington; new board members Brett Balcerak, LaNelle McKay and Virginia Ramirez.

President Casey called for nominations from the floor. Don Coffey moved that the nominated slate be elected by acclamation. The motion was seconded by Pat Mann, and passed unanimously on a show of hands.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,
Pat Mann, Secretary